Bihar Cabinet Expansion Tomorrow at 11.30 AM, RJD to Get Major Share of Seats

Posted on

Patna/New Delhi: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is set to expand his cabinet on Tuesday with the major share of seats going to ally Rashtriya Janata Dal, reported news agencies quoting sources on Monday.¬†About 30 members will be inducted from different constituents of the ‚ÄėMahagathbandhan‚Äô or the Grand Alliance. The RJD is expected to have 15 cabinet seats and Kumar‚Äôs Janata Dal United 12, sources were quoted as saying. The state cabinet can have up to 36 ministers, including the chief minister.Also Read – ’10 Lakh More Jobs’: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar Promises 20 Lakh Employment Opportunities on Independence Day

According to highly placed sources, the swearing-in will take place at 11.30 AM at the Raj Bhavan. Among the invitees could be RJD supremo Lalu Prasad who was expected to arrive here on Monday night though party sources now claim he will be arriving on Tuesday by a morning flight. Also Read – Viral Video: Heartbroken Youth Celebrates Breakup Party in Samastipur, Cuts Cake With a Pistol | Watch

The induction of ministers on Tuesday is expected to keep a few berths vacant for future expansion. An in-principle agreement has been reached that the RJD, which is the largest party in the state assembly, will have a lion’s share of ministerial berths, followed by Kumar’s JD(U). Congress’ state in-charge Bhakt Charan Das has said that the party is tipped to get three ministerial berths, two of which will be filled on Tuesday. Also Read РWill Nitish Kumar Compete Against PM Modi in 2024? Bihar CM Breaks Silence | WATCH

Here’s a list of the names of probable ministers:

  1. According to Congress sources who did not wish to be named, Afaque Alam and Murari Gautam have been handpicked as part of the party’s strategy to back a Muslim and a Dalit. Earlier, the names of Shakil Ahmed Khan, an AICC secretary and one of the most vocal MLAs, besides Rajesh Ram, were doing the rounds.
  2. From the RJD camp, there seems to be little doubt over the induction of Tej Pratap Yadav, the maverick elder son of Lalu Prasad. Along expected lines, the party is expected to allot a number of berths to those from the Yadav caste, who form its core base.
  3. Others whose names are doing the rounds include national general secretary Alok Mehta and young MLA Sudhakar Singh, whose father Jagadanand Singh is currently the state president and enjoys the respect of Tejashwi Yadav.
  4. The JD(U) is likely to retain most of its ministers in the previous NDA government including Vijay Kumar Chaudhary, Ashok Choudhary, Bijendra Yadav, Shravan Kumar and Leshi Singh.
  5. It may drop a few who may have been deemed to be close to the BJP and former JD(U) president RCP Singh who has been accused of trying to split the party at the ex-ally’s behest.
  6. In addition, Hindustani Awam Morcha’s Santosh Suman is also likely to return as a minister. The party, founded by his father and former CM Jitan Ram Manhi, has four MLAs and it had quit the NDA expressing solidarity with Nitish Kumar.
  7. The lone Independent Sumit Kumar Singh, whose late father Narendra Singh was an old associate of the chief minister, had been made a minister in the previous government and he is also likely to be sworn in on Tuesday.

(With PTI inputs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.